Does anybody know what it means to have a compromise phone number

Sally99
Sally99 Member Posts: 30
10 Comments

So I have a subscription to McAfee and apparently my phone number is been compromised a lot of times it gives me the persons name and everything who did it email you name it. I got a hold of the security department I called them and told them what should I do about this situation and they acted like I was stupid they ask me what do you want us to do about it!! I’m like really people wow what do I do

Answers

• rooted
    rooted Gulf Coast, USModerator Posts: 871
    250 Likes 500 Comments 50 Answers 25 Agrees
    ✭✭✭✭✭

It sounds like a baiting scam email to me Sally.

Where are you getting this warning about your phone number being compromised? Through email correct?

• Sally99
    10 Comments

Threw my security mcAfee it actually gives me the email of who is doing it, and the phone number, plus more. All kinds of info. It. Even says which site it’s been on I don’t know what that means but I can tell you with the developer site

• rooted
    ✭✭✭✭✭

I don't have experience with that security suite unfortunately, perhaps someone who does will be of more help.

Let's wait and see if anyone else knows.

• angelo_lopes
    angelo_lopes Porto, PortugalMember Posts: 6
    First Anniversary First Comment Photogenic

• angelo_lopes
    angelo_lopes Porto, PortugalMember Posts: 6
    First Anniversary First Comment Photogenic
    McAfee is a joke, not protection software. In 2003, I had to reformat 67 computers, including three servers. All had updated McAfee. They had been infected with the Klez worm, which had appeared two years earlier, in 2001.

Our McAfee license was close to renewal, and over the course of a month and a half I tested more than ten antivirus software. I still have floppy disks with viruses from that time.