Get a Blank Page on "Scan for devices"

CarloCarlo Padova (Veneto/Italia)Member, Beta Tester Posts: 28
10 Comments First Anniversary 5 Likes 5 Awesomes
✭✭
Good morning,
today when I request the device page it appears white after a quick display attempt (a few seconds in which you can see the list of devices.
Possible solutions?
Thanks for the attention


Best Answer

  • KevinBKevinB Member Posts: 8
    Name Dropper First Comment
    Accepted Answer
    Well now I just tried Fing again and it's all working as it should.  I didn't change anything since yesterday!  Just need to write a note to self... Don't try the summary view again!

Answers

  • KevinBKevinB Member Posts: 8
    Name Dropper First Comment
    I'm running 1.4.1 Desktop on Windows 10 and I stupidly clicked on 'summary' in the scan view and I now have the blank screen.  Read through posts and saw this about a device set as CAR and I did have one, changed it, everything still the same on the desktop app.  Very frustrating
    From what I had read I thought this had been fixed in an earlier release

    Fing has been working great all along, then in 2 days two issues the other in the Android App, off to report that problem now

    Any help appreciated 
  • ScoobyScooby Member Posts: 160
    100 Comments 25 Awesomes 25 Likes 5 Answers
    ✭✭✭
    Did you happen to get the Windows 10 2004 (May 2020) update, by chance? Ever since mine updated, I've been having issues with the Fing Desktop app.
    AnthonyB
  • KevinBKevinB Member Posts: 8
    Name Dropper First Comment
    No, not let 2004 install yet.  Things seem to be working ok except for the scan view being blank which kind of limits functionality a bit!
  • RobinRobin Administrator, Fing Team Posts: 3,695
    250 Answers 2500 Comments 500 Likes 100 Awesomes
    admin
    Hi @KevinB
    The summary view should be working as well. Can you please let me know of the O.S you are using so I can guide you better? Thanks
    Robin (Admin at Fing)
    Getting Started? Please refer to Community guidelines & Community User Guides("Helping Hand"). HAPPY POSTING!!!
  • KevinBKevinB Member Posts: 8
    Name Dropper First Comment
    Hi @Robin
    Was half afraid to try the summary view again after that, but I now have and yes that is working fine too
    I'm on Windows 10 Home Version 1903 - Fing version 1.4.1
    Thanks for your help
    Robin
  • AnthonyBAnthonyB Member Posts: 34
    10 Comments First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭
    I started getting the exact same thing about a week ago - everything in the Fing Desktop App v1.4.1 works fine except "Scan for Devices"
    When I click on "Scan for Devices", I see a flash for 0.5 sec of what would have been the Header section of the page with the network details, number of devices, etc. and then just a White Page.

    The timing of this issue was suspiciously close to when I updated from Windows 10 1909 to 2004. Causation or correlation?
  • RobinRobin Administrator, Fing Team Posts: 3,695
    250 Answers 2500 Comments 500 Likes 100 Awesomes
    admin
    AnthonyB said:
    I started getting the exact same thing about a week ago - everything in the Fing Desktop App v1.4.1 works fine except "Scan for Devices"
    When I click on "Scan for Devices", I see a flash for 0.5 sec of what would have been the Header section of the page with the network details, number of devices, etc. and then just a White Page.

    The timing of this issue was suspiciously close to when I updated from Windows 10 1909 to 2004. Causation or correlation?
    It might be because of new version of Windows. Can you try to uninstall Fing Desktop and download a fresh copy and install again and check?
    Robin (Admin at Fing)
    Getting Started? Please refer to Community guidelines & Community User Guides("Helping Hand"). HAPPY POSTING!!!
  • AnthonyBAnthonyB Member Posts: 34
    10 Comments First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭
    Robin said:
    It might be because of new version of Windows. Can you try to uninstall Fing Desktop and download a fresh copy and install again and check?
    Uninstalled, downloaded v1.4.1 from website, installed, waited for network tests to complete, exact same results as before.
    Every part of the app works fine except for the Devices List.
  • RobinRobin Administrator, Fing Team Posts: 3,695
    250 Answers 2500 Comments 500 Likes 100 Awesomes
    admin
    AnthonyB said:
    Robin said:
    It might be because of new version of Windows. Can you try to uninstall Fing Desktop and download a fresh copy and install again and check?
    Uninstalled, downloaded v1.4.1 from website, installed, waited for network tests to complete, exact same results as before.
    Every part of the app works fine except for the Devices List.

    If possible please uninstall the older version of WinPcap and install the latest version of Win10Pcap from here and check. Fing agent needs the Windows libraries which are installed with the WinPcap package during FingDesktop installation, it used to make packet capture and filtering useful our engine to protocol analyzers and network monitors. 
    Fing agent service cannot work properly without the correct installation of WinPcap.  
     


    Robin (Admin at Fing)
    Getting Started? Please refer to Community guidelines & Community User Guides("Helping Hand"). HAPPY POSTING!!!
  • RobinRobin Administrator, Fing Team Posts: 3,695
    250 Answers 2500 Comments 500 Likes 100 Awesomes
    admin
    Hi @Carlo
    Thanks for the feedback. In case if it is a bug impacting many users, can you put: 
    OS name / OS version, desktop version, any VPN used? 
    Thanks again. 
    Robin (Admin at Fing)
    Getting Started? Please refer to Community guidelines & Community User Guides("Helping Hand"). HAPPY POSTING!!!
  • TheDudeTheDude Member Posts: 3
    First Comment Photogenic
    Same situation as described....Fing Desktop v1.4.1 on Win10 v1909 w/ WinPcap v.4.1.3

  • RobinRobin Administrator, Fing Team Posts: 3,695
    250 Answers 2500 Comments 500 Likes 100 Awesomes
    admin
    TheDude said:
    Same situation as described....Fing Desktop v1.4.1 on Win10 v1909 w/ WinPcap v.4.1.3

    please uninstall the older version of WinPcap and install the latest version of Win10Pcap from here and check. Fing agent needs the Windows libraries which are installed with the WinPcap package during FingDesktop installation, it used to make packet capture and filtering useful our engine to protocol analyzers and network monitors. 
    Fing agent service cannot work properly without the correct installation of WinPcap.  
     
    Robin (Admin at Fing)
    Getting Started? Please refer to Community guidelines & Community User Guides("Helping Hand"). HAPPY POSTING!!!
  • CarloCarlo Padova (Veneto/Italia)Member, Beta Tester Posts: 28
    10 Comments First Anniversary 5 Likes 5 Awesomes
    ✭✭
    Hi,
    OS: windows 10 home
    fing desktop version: 1.4.1
    no VPN
    Thanks
  • CarloCarlo Padova (Veneto/Italia)Member, Beta Tester Posts: 28
    10 Comments First Anniversary 5 Likes 5 Awesomes
    ✭✭
    I forgot this report today:
    00.18 Your Fingbox state has changed. went offline
    0057 Your Fingbox state has changed. went back online
    Thanks








  • TheDudeTheDude Member Posts: 3
    First Comment Photogenic
    I uninstalled Fing & WinPcap & rebooted. Also went into syswow64 & renamed existing packet.dll & wpcap.dll beforehand since they were still there - probably leftover from something else, but shouldn't have been there  after uninstalling WinPcap. Reinstalled WinPcap from your link & Fing and rebooted. Exact same results as before. Every part of the app works fine except for the Devices List as AnthonyB describes above. Also tried it with all security/AV softwares disabled to see if maybe a conflict there, but same. This is not a big deal as my phone app is working for this function anyway, but let me know if you find anything out or need me to try something else - I ain't scared :)

  • lov2krzlov2krz Member Posts: 19
    10 Comments Name Dropper Photogenic
    I'm having the same issue only on my iMac OS X 10.15.5.  I've done many restarts with the same results.  I even got to the point where when I tried to download the app and reinstall it I was getting "file is damage" and asked if I wanted to cancel or move to trash.  I moved it to the trash many times, deleted the program and its application support folder and preference pane.  I was able to just now restart in safe mode and installed the program but I am still getting the white box after I click scan.  
    My iPhone fing app works just fine as it did when when I got an error on a couple of installations that the fing box was not connected on my desktop.  I got that fixed after a half dozen attempts.
    I also posted this in the thread about the damaged file message, sorry I don't have the link to that.
    In total I have rebooted my system more than a dozen times, I have deleted the program more than 10 times, I have reinstalled my OS 3 times and nothing seems to help.  Booted in safe mode with only Safari running.  This problem doesn't care what browser I use, Safari or Firefox.
    Please someone needs to get this fixed. Running Fing Version 1.4.1 (1.4.1) which was downloaded from the Mac OS link on the Fing website.
    Steven

    Arie
  • lov2krzlov2krz Member Posts: 19
    10 Comments Name Dropper Photogenic
    Bad news, this is also happening on Mac desktops.  See this thread where I posted my issue with many others. https://community.fing.com/discussion/4723/get-a-blank-page-on-scan-for-devices#latest
    Steven
    Arie
  • AnthonyBAnthonyB Member Posts: 34
    10 Comments First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭
    edited June 2020
    I've already got the latest version of WinPcap (4.1.3). It was released 7 years ago (probably older than most people's machines!) so unless a rogue app retrograded it, I think you can stop advising people to "update" WinPcap.

    Also, given the post before mine shows same issue on Mac, I think we can remove Windows 10 Build 2004 update as a cause unless there was something in common released to Windows and MacOS machines.

    So, what next?
  • RobinRobin Administrator, Fing Team Posts: 3,695
    250 Answers 2500 Comments 500 Likes 100 Awesomes
    admin
    Hi @AnthonyB
    I advised installing WinPcap from this link: http://www.win10pcap.org/

    In this case, given what you have already tried, you can solve it by following these steps: 

    • Uninstall WinPcap  
    • Uninstall Fing Desktop 
    • Reboot pc 
    • Install last Fing Desktop release 
    Robin (Admin at Fing)
    Getting Started? Please refer to Community guidelines & Community User Guides("Helping Hand"). HAPPY POSTING!!!
    AnthonyB
  • CarloCarlo Padova (Veneto/Italia)Member, Beta Tester Posts: 28
    10 Comments First Anniversary 5 Likes 5 Awesomes
    ✭✭
    Robin said:
    Hi @AnthonyB
    I advised installing WinPcap from this link: http://www.win10pcap.org/

    In this case, given what you have already tried, you can solve it by following these steps: 

    • Uninstall WinPcap  
    • Uninstall Fing Desktop 
    • Reboot pc 
    • Install last Fing Desktop release 

    Does not work ...
    Winpcap 10 is not installed because the previous version is not completely uninstalled.
    And the problem persists ...
    Ciao



    AnthonyB
  • AnthonyBAnthonyB Member Posts: 34
    10 Comments First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭
    edited June 2020
    Carlo said:
    Robin said:
    Hi @AnthonyB
    I advised installing WinPcap from this link: http://www.win10pcap.org/

    In this case, given what you have already tried, you can solve it by following these steps: 

    • Uninstall WinPcap  
    • Uninstall Fing Desktop 
    • Reboot pc 
    • Install last Fing Desktop release 

    Does not work ...
    Winpcap 10 is not installed because the previous version is not completely uninstalled.
    And the problem persists ...
    Ciao



    Same result for me.
    1. Uninstalled WinPcap 4.1.3
    2. Uninstalled Fing Desktop 1.4.1 (inc. check that C:\Program Files\Fing directory had been completely removed)
    3. Rebooted
    4. Installed Win10Pcap 10.2.5002
    5. Installed Fing Desktop 1.4.1
    6. Run Fing and allow network scan to complete
    7. Click around every part of Fing - Notifications, Community, Outages, Compare Providers, Network Full Report, even "See Insights" under Local Network - All Good.
    8. Click on "Scan for Devices" - exactly the same as before - for about 1 second I see the header section where number of devices, etc. would be populated (but nothing is populated) and then blank white screen.

    Next?
  • CarloCarlo Padova (Veneto/Italia)Member, Beta Tester Posts: 28
    10 Comments First Anniversary 5 Likes 5 Awesomes
    ✭✭
    and today

    Fing Service not found

    We're reconnecting to the Fing Service. If you keep seeing this page, try rebooting or reinstalling the latest version of Fing App to resolve the issue. If the problem persists, you can contact us at [email protected]

    Un vero casino ....


  • CarloCarlo Padova (Veneto/Italia)Member, Beta Tester Posts: 28
    10 Comments First Anniversary 5 Likes 5 Awesomes
    ✭✭
    Hello,
    can we consider the Fing desktop project dead ???
    If you're there, hit it ...
    Thank you



  • tk5tk5 Member, Beta Tester Posts: 1
    First Comment Photogenic
    Same problem on all of my WIN10 machines.
  • TheDudeTheDude Member Posts: 3
    First Comment Photogenic
    v2.0 was passed down to my desktop this morning & seems to have corrected all issues. Thank you very much :)
  • CarloCarlo Padova (Veneto/Italia)Member, Beta Tester Posts: 28
    10 Comments First Anniversary 5 Likes 5 Awesomes
    ✭✭
    Unfortunately, version 2 has not yet arrived in Italy ...
    Is there a possibility to force it?
    Thank you

  • AnthonyBAnthonyB Member Posts: 34
    10 Comments First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭
    You can manually download it from https://www.fing.com/products/fing-desktop-download-windows
    ..and yes, blank screen issue is now fixed for me as well.
    Robin
  • CarloCarlo Padova (Veneto/Italia)Member, Beta Tester Posts: 28
    10 Comments First Anniversary 5 Likes 5 Awesomes
    ✭✭
    Grazie, ciao
Sign In or Register to comment.