Wrong name reported every new host

SuperMarioSuperMario Member Posts: 12
10 Comments Photogenic Name Dropper
Hello, i have a fingbox, and i always receive a wrong host name when i connect a new pc at my lan. I am a computer technician and I connect many different computers to my local network to perform maintenancem every time i connect a new pc via LAN, i receive the notification, but 90% the name is wrong  and it is the name of some old computer or wireless device previously connected and no longer connected. For example, now i connected a notebook, installed a windows, and this is what fing reported to me:
Network(censored)
DeviceGalaxy-A5-2017
TypeMobile
VendorSamsung / Galaxy A5
IP address192.168.1.240
MAC address(censored)
Discovery timeOggi 12.11 

This is totally wrong, the "Galaxy a5 2017" is no longer connected to my wifi, i just connected a lenovo notebook with a windows S.O.
I use DHCP, It seems to me that fingbox does nothing but remember some old IP of some old device, and then tell me the name of the first device that got that IP, instead of telling me the current host name and the real data to which it is can be traced from the MAC address.
kltaylor

Answers

• MarcMarc Moderator, Beta Tester Posts: 2,380
    100 Answers 1000 Comments 500 Likes 250 Awesomes
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    @Robin or @Ciaran , is there anything @SuperMario can do to mitigate Fing using stale information?  
    Thats Daphnee, she's a good dog...
  • kltaylorkltaylor Moderator, Beta Tester Posts: 1,231
    1000 Comments 500 Likes 50 Answers 100 Awesomes
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @SuperMario welcome to the community and thanks for asking your question.
    I'd like to first address this part of your question if I may:
    "... It seems to me that fingbox does nothing but remember some old IP of some old device."