[RESOURCE] Cat 5, 5e, 6, 6A and Cat 7 info source

AlbertAlbert Member Posts: 97
25 Likes 10 Comments Photogenic Name Dropper
✭✭✭
edited February 2020 in Network Infrastructure
Hija Folks...
While getting ready to work on the cabling in our LAN I decided to do some research on the various cable categories. During that research I stumbled on a series on extremely well written articles on this subject by a USA company engineer.  As this forum exists to share knowledge, I decided to post the link here. Please understand... I am a novice in this area and NON-Biased and well written articles are hard to come by. Being in Ireland and the company based in the USA I cant buy from them but the articles in my opinion are absolutely EXCELLENT. Like most novices... i would have fallen into the trap that says... the higher the number, the better. ( Heh.... Cat8 must be the "Bees Knees".... right ?  NO... nor for me.... if i Even manged to crimp a connector on that cable from hell.   )As i will not in this life be running 10Gig speeds...I am settling on Cat 6.  and will crimp to the T568B standard. I have one cable outdoor run very close on 400 feet and while cat 5e does the job, it struggles. Sadly.. I laid that cable in 2000 and there was nothing much better available at that time and CAT categories were an unknown subject for me. 
Here is the link: 
www.truecable.com/blogs/cable-academy
ENJOY !!!

(Edit: Changed subject line to reflect that this information is a network resource -klt)
pwmeekLong_John_SliverMarcrootedRobinCiaranPixelpopperxpeetxGlennyW_T_FSyndikatGlobal

Comments

• kltaylorkltaylor Moderator, Beta Tester Posts: 1,231
    1000 Comments 500 Likes 50 Answers 100 Awesomes
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Thank you @Albert, this is a great resource to use when the question arises on what Ethernet category will be right for their environment.

I changed the subject to reflect that this is a resource that we'll want to keep in our archives.