Second DHCP SERVER

MicroclothMicrocloth Southport, Queensland, AustraliaMember Posts: 5
First Comment
edited April 29 in Devices & Security
I have just joined the Premium membership of Fing in the hope that someone can put me on the straight and narrow with DHCP Servers.  FingBox has detected two active servers.  The first is my standard gateway.  The second identifies my Swann NVR16-8580 Security System as the source.   While setting up the NVR I set DHCP and it appears with one IP address on Fing.   The NVR shows that it has allocated an entirely different set of IP Addresses to each of the cameras attached.   They show up in Fing with MAC addresses but no IP address.   Can someone tell me if this is the norm for these systems and is the Fing warning of a vulnerability valid.   I assume that you can have two servers as long as they don't throw out conflicting IP Addresses.   I would be grateful for some advice as I am just getting into the realm of DHCP and the like.   On a follow up matter,  should I allocate static addresses to the cameras rather than as current or is this a security no-no or a potential for failure or is their any point in doing so.  The real question is - is this normal that only the NVR shows up in Fing and not the cameras?   Grateful for some clear advice on this as I don't want to poke around too much and wreck what currently works.  Regards...

Best Answers

• MicroclothMicrocloth Southport, Queensland, AustraliaMember Posts: 5
    First Comment
    Accepted Answer