4G / 5G vs ISP...

Hey guys, first post!

To provide some background to this; I'm moving soon to a new house and leaving behind my awesome 300Mbp/s Virgin fiber  :'(  for... lets just say the area has exchange 'fiber' at a max rate of 60Mbps (guaranteed apparently). But with all the talk recently of 4g and 5g home routers providing unlimited bandwidth at a very reasonable cost! Is it worth looking into 4g / 5g as a reliable connection or is DSL going to be around for a while?

I know it's kind of opinion based, but a family member suggested a friend of his achieved over 100Mb with a 4g router from 3 (I think maybe he got lucky with a 5g trial and didn't realise it... or is 4g capable of 100Mb in the real world?)

In any case I work from home, so stability is more important, but I also work in tech and download a lot; plus my partner is a gamer so bandwidth is very much utilised in this house!
Gidster

Best Answers

• PoohPooh Posts: 675 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Accepted Answer
    Unlimited in Telco terms invariably isn't unlimited. For example many providers give you a certain allotment then start to prioritize your connection behind other customers once you've breached it.

Others will drop you down to 3G or even 2G type speeds.

I'd stick with the DSL one if I were you. May not be published as being as fast, but you're probably not going to get many surprises with it either.
    People say nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.
    HronosMDavide
  • BurrathaBurratha Posts: 12 ✭✭
    edited September 6 Accepted Answer
    I've personally measured 123 MB on a 4G Vodafone connection, near Knutsford Cheshire. 

A friend has measured almost 300 MB on a 4G Vodafone connection in Islington, London.

My understanding is that when the telcos are installing a 5G cell, they're also upgrading the 4G ones at that location, as well as increasing the physical bandwidth from the mast/site they're hosted.

Answers

• LeeLee Member, Beta Tester Posts: 22 ✭✭