Anyone here using Akita? Feedback? Thoughts on Akita?

GroutyGrouty Member Posts: 7 ✭✭
edited September 30 in Devices & Security
Hi everyone,
I've ended up with a device called Akita. It's another device to plug into my router with a promise of improved security. I already have a Fingbox which works really well for me. I especially like the internet connection/dropout monitoring. I'm wondering if anyone can explain whether the Akita just duplicates the functions of the Fingbox or if it is somehow complimentary. I haven't plugged it in yet and I guess I need to ask if the 2 devices can even work together. 

Any advice will be gratefully received. Many thanks. Grouty. 

[Bugger! Posted in the wrong area. So sorry. Hopefully @violetchepilcan move it for me.]
VioletChepilkltaylorRobinCiaran

Comments

• VioletChepilVioletChepil London, UKAdministrator Posts: 1,616 admin
    Ah yes I've just done and move that one for you. :) I've got no direct experience with the Akita device so lets see what other members can offer too! 

Community Manager at Fing

kltaylor
  • PoohPooh Member Posts: 642 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Akita is more of a Firewall device so it should be OK to add. That said, I've not heard too many good things about the device either...
    People say nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.
    kltaylor
    As long as it allows the opened ports required should be good!
    Required port info:

If you want to limit outbound connections and still ensure minimum functionality, make sure to allow Fingbox to reach any IP address on the following TCP ports: 80, 443, 4443, 5671.

In addition, the ports needed for the Internet Speed Test, provided by M-Lab include 3001, 3002, 3003.

kltaylor
  • MetawatchMetawatch Member Posts: 3