TeamViewer and Fing

Lee
Lee Member, Beta Tester Posts: 22
10 Comments Name Dropper Founder 5 Likes
✭✭
I use TeamViewer infrequently to help friends and family members with various computer issues that they have. While I am not a professional computer tech, I do have a pretty extensive background in computer hardware and software, so I'm called on a couple of times a week to help someone. Often I can fix the problem remotely from my home through TeamViewer. I've used TeamViewer since the software was released. I use TeamViewer's free license since I'm not a professional tech and I don't charge for my service, and it is installed on my home computer.
A couple of weeks ago I ran into a problem when I tried to log into a friend's computer to help him. A warning popped up on TeamViewer indicating my computer had been flagged for as being used for "professional use" in violation of their licensing agreement. I've contacted TeamViewer Support to see if they'll reset my license but do to their high volume of support requests they said it could take 2 to 3 weeks to get back to me.
In the meantime I am wondering if something Fing might have done could have triggered this warning. I use Fing to turn on and off internet access to my desktop computer when I am not using it. And since Fing monitors my computer activity is there something Fing might be doing that caused TeamViewer's program to catch some usual traffic or activity from Fing to cause the warning?
I'd be really curious to know if any other Community members use TeamViewer and have run into a similar problem.

Thanks, Lee

Comments

• Pooh
    Pooh Member, Beta Tester Posts: 674
    500 Likes 500 Comments 25 Answers 100 Agrees
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    It could have simply been TeamViewer seeing activity through two totally different IP addresses. I highly doubt the Fingbix itself would have done something, but having two remote IPs suddenly become visible to TV on a free plan? Yeah, I could see that.