Second router showed up on my network/changed my gateway.

NetNoob63NetNoob63 Member Posts: 5
First Comment

I had a second router show up in my network last week. Fing shows it as router.asus.com just like my real router. IP address 192.168.1.1 but the MAC says 00:90:4C:X:X:X with the MAC vender Epigram/android. I reset my router and things went back to normal but now it’s back as a gateway. Now it has Gateway 192.168.1.1 (00:90:4C:X:X:X) then under that it has Trusted gateway with my Asus MAC bc:EE:7B:X:X:X.

Any help is very appreciated. I’m kinda new to networking but not computers. Thank you

Stopingads

Best Answer

• NetNoob63NetNoob63 Member Posts: 5
    First Comment
    Accepted Answer

Kltaylor Thank you for your help. I’m still learning what to and what not to worry about. I was wondering if the second MAC might be the modem. Always something new to learn. Thanks again.

Answers

• kltaylorkltaylor Moderator, Beta Tester Posts: 1,191
    1000 Comments 500 Likes 50 Answers 100 Awesomes
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @NetNoob63, welcome to our community.

First, I love the name. =)

Since these are both Asus routers, the first thing that comes to my mind is the possibility of them being connected for AI Mesh networking.  Is this device powered on and in use in your home at all?
    "There's a fine line between audacity and idiocy."
    -Warden Anastasia Luccio, Captain
    NetNoob63
  • NetNoob63NetNoob63 Member Posts: 5
    First Comment
    edited February 3

Thank you Kltaylor,

There should only be one router on my network. Just the Asus RT N53 MAC bc:EE:7B:X:X:X. The second router has a MAC of 00:90:4C:X:X:X with the vender Epigram/Android. After resetting the router it only shows up as a gateway

• kltaylorkltaylor Moderator, Beta Tester Posts: 1,191
    1000 Comments 500 Likes 50 Answers 100 Awesomes
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    @NetNoob63, I love screenshots.