Desktop App speed test vs Android App

seh2000
seh2000 IrelandMember, Beta Tester Posts: 111
Second Anniversary 10 Comments 5 Agrees First Answer
✭✭✭
Hi,
Bit strange behavior.
1) Speed test from Desktop App

2) Speed test from Android App

The speed test done from the Android app is very correct (500Mb DL / 50Mb UL). 

As mentioned previously, we need to know where the servers used for testing against are located and if Desktop App and Android App uses the same location/servers.

Answers

  • Carlo_from_Fing
    Carlo_from_Fing Rome, ItalyAdministrator, Fing Team Posts: 247
    100 Likes 100 Comments 5 Answers 25 Awesomes
    ✭✭✭
    Server name should be in top-left corner of the screen in Desktop.
    Even when servers are the same the difference can be in 2 items:
    - Processing power of PC vs Mobile
    - Network connection type of PC

    Carlo from Fing

  • seh2000
    seh2000 IrelandMember, Beta Tester Posts: 111
    Second Anniversary 10 Comments 5 Agrees First Answer
    ✭✭✭
    @Carlo_from_Fing,
    You are right in your assumptions, but:
    I am running a 1Gb LAN where the devices are connected via Cat6 cabling.
    The test PC got an 8 Gen Intel i5 processor, with 16Gb RAM, 240Gb SSD drive and a 1Gb LAN. 
    Speedtest (Ookla) and DSLReports Speed Thest show same speed as the Android App.
    Android App runs on a Samsung S8 on a 5Gb wireless connection.
    I assume the speed test is not run between the device and the server, but from the fingbox to the server, but perhaps I am wrong in this assumption...as in this case the expected result really depends on the device and the type of connection, which in this case should give a more higher and stable results from the fixed devices...   

  • Carlo_from_Fing
    Carlo_from_Fing Rome, ItalyAdministrator, Fing Team Posts: 247
    100 Likes 100 Comments 5 Answers 25 Awesomes
    ✭✭✭
    Hey @seh2000 you are right: if you are a fingbox owner from the mobile app you can run both a mobile speed test and also a Fingbox speed test.
    From the same test PC, could you please try M-Lab speed test? https://speed.measurementlab.net/#/
    If it's same as Fing Desktop, it's because of M-Lab, if it's much above, we definitely need to investigate this.
    Thanks in advance!

    Carlo from Fing

  • seh2000
    seh2000 IrelandMember, Beta Tester Posts: 111
    Second Anniversary 10 Comments 5 Agrees First Answer
    ✭✭✭
    Hi @Carlo_from_Fing,
    Result are very fluctuating...as you can see from the screen shots below, what I will do is to take regular speedtest from the PC and include M-Lab.
    DSL Reports

    1st speedtest from Ookla, 2nd speedtest from Desktop App, 3rd Speedtest from M-Lab


    Speedtest from Android app



        
  • Carlo_from_Fing
    Carlo_from_Fing Rome, ItalyAdministrator, Fing Team Posts: 247
    100 Likes 100 Comments 5 Answers 25 Awesomes
    ✭✭✭
    Thanks. So it seems to confirm that Fing Desktop speed test is perfectly aligned with M-Lab speed test.
    M-Lab is our partner and we rely on them to provide speed test feature in Fing, Finbgox and Fing desktop.

    Carlo from Fing

  • seh2000
    seh2000 IrelandMember, Beta Tester Posts: 111
    Second Anniversary 10 Comments 5 Agrees First Answer
    ✭✭✭
    Well not all the time...this is the problem...
    Below is a typical example, desktop app reports 186 while the Android App reports 480...
    Will run additional tests...




  • Carlo_from_Fing
    Carlo_from_Fing Rome, ItalyAdministrator, Fing Team Posts: 247
    100 Likes 100 Comments 5 Answers 25 Awesomes
    ✭✭✭
    I meant desktop app with other test run from the desktop.
    But I agree with you it's not nice.

    Carlo from Fing