Unknown device trying to join the network

Speedf
Speedf Member Posts: 35
Second Anniversary 10 Comments 5 Likes Name Dropper
✭✭✭
So I've got a device that occasionally joins my network.  FingBox identifies it as a RE222221, made by LG  Electronics with a MAC address of 00:05:2A:22:22:22.  I suspect (through a quick google search) that it's related to my BT WholeHome wifi Mesh system.  Doesn't seem to be causing any problems but just wondered if anyone knew what this was; perhaps the WholeHome's backhaul?
VioletChepil

Comments

  • VioletChepil
    VioletChepil London, UKMember Posts: 2,471
    100 Answers 500 Likes 1000 Comments 100 Agrees
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    I think I've seen in the past - I believe that it can be a VM from a device that's connecting to the network. Let's check with some other members! @Ajax @Lee_Bo @adam @RichCreedy @FingLover @Jack anything to add on this post? I'm also promoting this so we can try and get some more responses! 

    Community Manager at Fing

  • adam
    adam Member, Beta Tester Posts: 63
    25 Likes 10 Comments First Anniversary 5 Awesomes
    ✭✭✭
    Does it get an ip address assigned  @Speedf ?   I assume it does as my understanding is that fingbox needs that although correct me if I am wrong anyone.
  • Speedf
    Speedf Member Posts: 35
    Second Anniversary 10 Comments 5 Likes Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭
    Definitely not a VM.  I haven't seen it get an IP (shows as 0.0.0.0).  I'm pretty sure it's something to do with the BT WholeHome (DHCP vendor even shows as "BT Whole Home DHCP Detect".   It does join the network every now and again.   Just wondering what this thing is.
  • Lee_Bo
    Lee_Bo Member Posts: 272
    100 Comments 100 Likes Second Anniversary 5 Answers
    ✭✭✭✭
    It could be part of your mesh system.  When I first installed my Ubiquity network, the mesh antennas did that very same thing.
    VioletChepil
  • RichCreedy
    RichCreedy Member, Beta Tester Posts: 38
    25 Likes 10 Comments First Anniversary Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭
    a quick google picks this up as something to do with the BT Wholehome Devices, but no one seems to know for sure
    VioletChepil
  • David
    David Member Posts: 9
    5 Likes Name Dropper First Answer Photogenic
    ✭✭
    Ha, I thought it was a neighbour's telly trying to connect so blocked it! I have exactly the same device with the same Mac Address, and I also have BT Whole Home disks. Might re-enable it now to see if it makes any difference to anything? 

    GidsterVioletChepil
  • KenD
    KenD Member Posts: 15
    10 Comments First Anniversary 5 Agrees 5 Likes
    ✭✭✭
    That is an odd one. The only time I ever saw devices assigned a 0.0.0.0 IP address was when I had D-Link wifi extenders installed. I have since removed them and went back to Orbi's. Haven't seen that IP assigned since.
    VioletChepilHronos
  • Joe
    Joe Member, Beta Tester Posts: 54
    Second Anniversary 25 Likes 10 Comments First Answer
    ✭✭✭
    Yes, there is an issue with VMs when they restart. Two random MAC addresses (no manufacturer) appear on the network with a 0.0.0.0 IP address. There could be a possibility that any pc restarting on the network could do the same.
    I have a particularly unreliable Owl device on my network that is supposed to monitor my solar PV. That has a 0.0.0.0 IP address most of the time.
    PoohVioletChepil
  • VioletChepil
    VioletChepil London, UKMember Posts: 2,471
    100 Answers 500 Likes 1000 Comments 100 Agrees
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    @Speedf just a quick tip - next time if you post this as a question (rather than a discussion) you'll be able to choose whether the answer has solved your problem. This will help Fing, because we'll know whether you found a good solution! 

    Community Manager at Fing

    RichCreedy
  • Italic
    Italic Member Posts: 7
    First Comment Photogenic

    Same strange incident here, but I don’t have bt Whole Home. I do have KPN Experia + Mesh, which could be from the same vendor. The exact same device ID showed and the same MAC.

  • VioletChepil
    VioletChepil London, UKMember Posts: 2,471
    100 Answers 500 Likes 1000 Comments 100 Agrees
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    @Italic
    I've done a search on this topic - and it seems that you and @Speedf are not alone in experiencing this mystery device. 
    https://community.bt.com/t5/BT-Devices/Mystery-device-appears-when-Wholehome-reboots/td-p/1896338
    https://community.bt.com/t5/BT-Devices/New-Whole-Home-Wi-Fi-Firmware-released-18-03-19-version-1-02-08/td-p/1931211/page/3 
    Could this be there firmware updates engine?

    Community Manager at Fing

  • VioletChepil
    VioletChepil London, UKMember Posts: 2,471
    100 Answers 500 Likes 1000 Comments 100 Agrees
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    @Speedf - @Italic - could we start up a new thread like:
    Anyone see the device RE222221, made by LG  Electronics with a MAC address of 00:05:2A:22:22:22 on their network?

    Then we can see if others are also experiencing. Perhaps someone has the answer for us...

    I'm happy to promote that thread too... 

    Community Manager at Fing

    RichCreedy
  • TurnberryThree
    TurnberryThree Member Posts: 1
    Photogenic First Comment
    Yeah, I get this & I have the BT Wholehome mesh system. There doesn't seem to be a definitive answer. Has anyone had a response from BT ?
  • Chadderz
    Chadderz Member Posts: 1
    Second Anniversary First Comment Photogenic
    Yep I have exactly the same too and also have the BT Whole Home mesh Wi-Fi network. Have always assumed it is the mesh networks hidden Wi-Fi 
  • DBailey
    DBailey Member Posts: 13
    10 Comments First Anniversary Photogenic
    I see the same LG TV RE222221 device on my network, with an Arcadyan MAC address (D0:05:2A:*:*:*). I don't have mesh wi-fi, but it might be part of my Verizon Fios router/AP or network extender, since it shows up as "Verizon BHRx1 DHCP Detect".
  • DBailey
    DBailey Member Posts: 13
    10 Comments First Anniversary Photogenic
    This excellent article confirms that the "Verizon BHRx1 DHCP Detect" device is part of my Verizon Fios E3200 network extender; it appears to be used to verify that the extender's DHCP client is talking to the DHCP server on a Verizon G3100 router. For folks seeing the device as part of the BT Whole Home mesh wi-fi network, it might be serving a similar function.
    RichCreedy
  • mddsdjc
    mddsdjc Member, Beta Tester Posts: 4
    Second Anniversary First Comment Photogenic
    I am not very technical and apologise if some of my terminology is inaccurate.

    I have found this issue with my BT Complete Home Network and have noticed the following in relation to device RE222221. When installing a new network disc it is necessary to connect it to the BT router with an ethernet cable. This results in device RE222221 connecting to the network with an allocated IP address. Once the disc is setup and the ethernet cable is removed, the disc connects to the network via wifi and is allocated an IP address and device RE22221 becomes "dormant" with IP address 0,0,0,0. This process recurs when a new disc is added to the network. I assume therefore that hardware built into the discs represents device RE222221.