Attacker told my daughter he'd hacked our internet - help

chuckschucks Member Posts: 2
edited October 24 in Devices & Security

Someone last night tried to get pictures from my daughter by saying he’d hacked our internet and to prove it he cut her off WiFi.

i’m new to all this but I do know if you get a IP address you can overload a router to get it to reboot ?

anyways I’ve reset the router, removed all devices and changed all passwords.

question is what else can I do?

VioletChepilCiarankltaylorRobin

Answers

• PoohPooh Member Posts: 675 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 23
    Hello @chucks, and welcome to the community!

Is it possible to overload a router? Sure it is. That said, it's very highly unlikely. It's also doubtful that this person has really hacked your internet. Traditionally this is something said to people to scare them into paying money.

Are we talking pictures off a smart device , or a PC? If a device, iOS or Android? If a PC then Windows, Linux or Mac?

Most consumers use leased IP addresses that can change on a irregular basis (whenever the lease expires). This alone would make launching a DDOS attack somewhat doubtful since they'd need to know what your IP address is. This is not impossible, but for a home user with little to directly gain, somewhat unlikely.

The biggest risk is from exposed ports and installed malware: right now I'd say you've checked all the requisite first boxes.
    People say nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.
    chucksVioletChepilkltaylorGummyKing
  • chuckschucks Member Posts: 2

Thanks for getting back to me.

For what I know my daughter was using a iPad mini 2 and clicked on and link on a YouTube channel of a person she was talking to, the person question started telling her he had control and to prove it he said he’d turn the WiFi on and off, could have been coincidence but she said he did .

VioletChepilkltaylor